Home > TV Show >

Raising Hope Season 1

Raising Hope Season 1


The first season of the American television series Raising Hope premiered on September 21, 2010, and concluded on May 17, 2011 on the Fox Network. The show aired on Tuesday at 9:00 pm ET. The season consisted of 22 episodes and averaged 6.40 million viewers.

air date

September. 21,2010

production companies

Where to Watch Raising Hope Season 1

Season 1

Raising Hope Season 1 Episode Guide


S1 E1 Pilot

Sep. 21,2010

A 23-year-old man must enlist his family to help him raise a baby that is the result of a one-night stand with a wanted felon.

Dead Tooth

S1 E2 Dead Tooth

Sep. 28,2010

Jimmy asks Sabrina's cousin to baby-sit Hope so he can return to work. Burt tries to persuade Virginia to quit smoking.

Dream Hoarders

S1 E3 Dream Hoarders

Oct. 05,2010

The family baby-proofs the house as Hope learns to crawl. Jimmy visits the grocery store in hopes of seeing Sabrina.

Say Cheese

S1 E4 Say Cheese

Oct. 12,2010

Jimmy realizes that he has no family photos that include Hope, so he organizes a family photo shoot.

Happy Halloween

S1 E5 Happy Halloween

Oct. 26,2010

When Sabrina's boyfriend can't make it to the deli guy's Halloween party, Jimmy offers to put on his costume and go in his place. Virginia takes Maw Maw, who is dressed as a cat, trick-or-treating while Burt plots ways to play tricks on Jimmy.

Family Secrets

S1 E6 Family Secrets

Oct. 26,2010

When a box containing videos of Hope's mother arrives from prison, Jimmy must decide whether or not to let Hope see them. Virginia explains that children need to be protected from the truth, leading Jimmy to question what exactly his parents have been keeping from him.

The Sniffles

S1 E7 The Sniffles

Nov. 09,2010

When Hope catches a cold, Jimmy panics because the family does not have health insurance. Jimmy figures out a way to get a second job at Sabrina's grocery store so he can afford to take Hope to the pediatrician.

Blue Dots

S1 E8 Blue Dots

Nov. 16,2010

Jimmy decides to put Hope in an expensive daycare center, but meets an obstacle in the form of an old record from Burt's past, so the family decides to take matters in their own hands and deal with the law.

Meet the Grandparents

S1 E9 Meet the Grandparents

Nov. 23,2010

Instead of sleeping in and ordering pizza, per his normal Thanksgiving custom, Jimmy invites Hope's other grandparents, Dale and Margine, to join the Chances for a more traditional holiday dinner. The Chances soon realize that the apple doesn't fall far from the tree when Dale and Margine kidnap Hope, and it's up to them to get her back.

Burt Rocks

S1 E10 Burt Rocks

Nov. 30,2010

A washed-up rock star who is hired as the lead act at 'Grocery-Palooza', a rock concert at the supermarket where Sabrina works. Smokey was once Burt's musical idol, and Burt hopes to relive his rock-star years by playing backup for him at the concert.

Toy Story

S1 E11 Toy Story

Dec. 07,2010

Jimmy finds out about his father's annual Christmas scheme where he sells the most wanted toy for a lot of money, which always left Jimmy disappointed when he was a child. Virginia wants the family to be a part of the living nativity scene at their church to gain the respect of the members.

Romeo and Romeo

S1 E12 Romeo and Romeo

Feb. 08,2011

Jimmy hasn't had any time to socialize or make friends since Hope was born, so when he meets another single dad at the grocery store, he immediately sets up a play date. But when Jimmy finds out that Virginia is his new friend's housekeeper, Virginia insists that Jimmy cancel the outing. In an effort to keep the peace, Jimmy and his friend arrange a dinner at the Chance house.

A Germ of a Story

S1 E13 A Germ of a Story

Feb. 15,2011

When Sabrina points out to Jimmy just how many germs are lurking around his house, the Chance family becomes obsessed with cleanliness. Finding it impossible to keep Maw Maw clean, they move her to the backyard greenhouse, but after watching some old family movies, they discover a surprising secret that has kept them healthy all these years.

What Up, Cuz?

S1 E14 What Up, Cuz?

Feb. 22,2011

Virginia's cousin Delilah, who struggles to make ends meet, pays a visit to the Chance family unannounced, determined to claim her share of Maw Maw's - whom she thinks died years ago - estate. Further tension builds when Delilah admits she still has a crush on Burt. Meanwhile, Jimmy babysits Maw Maw and panics when she takes off on Sabrina's moped.

Snip Snip

S1 E15 Snip Snip

Mar. 01,2011

When Virginia and Sabrina discover secrets about each other, Sabrina blackmails Virginia into keeping her mouth shut. Meanwhile, Jimmy takes Burt to get a vasectomy after a family vote.

The Cultish Personality

S1 E16 The Cultish Personality

Mar. 08,2011

Mike returns after going through a spiritual quest with a wife and her other three husbands in tow. Burt attempts to fix the relationship between his brother and Mike.


S1 E17 Mongooses

Mar. 15,2011

The Chance family goes to see a lawyer to get their wills done, and Burt is insulted when Jimmy chooses Sabrina over him. Meanwhile, Sabrina is overcome with emotion by the news, while Maw Maw thinks mongooses are infesting the household.


S1 E18 Cheaters

Apr. 19,2011

Maw Maw has a crush on a man she meets at Shelley's daycare. Jimmy takes Sabrina to see Wyatt after she suspects he might be cheating on her, and he resorts to drastic measures to win her back.

Sleep Training

S1 E19 Sleep Training

Apr. 26,2011

When Burt is introduced to a book on sleep-training, he and Virginia decide to try it on baby Hope. Meanwhile, Jimmy's wild new girlfriend introduces him to a special beverage that takes him on a scary trip.

Everybody Flirts...Sometimes

S1 E20 Everybody Flirts...Sometimes

May. 03,2011

When Burt's flirtatious ways are exposed, the entire family begins to experiment with flirting. Jimmy and Sabrina compete to be Barney's favorite employee, Maw Maw gives away her treasures and Virginia is stalked by a coffee shop employee.

Baby Monitor

S1 E21 Baby Monitor

May. 10,2011

Burt and Virginia try to help a couple they heard arguing on Hope's baby monitor.

Don't Vote for this Episode

S1 E22 Don't Vote for this Episode

May. 17,2011

The Chances reminisce about the year Jimmy turned 18 - when Maw Maw kicked them out of the house, when a goth Jimmy took up residence in the grocery store and when Burt and Virginia finally figured out how to be adults.

More Episodes

Cast of Raising Hope Season 1

Lucas Neff

Jimmy Chance

Martha Plimpton

Virginia Chance

Garret Dillahunt

Burt Chance

Shannon Woodward


Cloris Leachman

Maw Maw

Gregg Binkley

Barney Hughes